Home » Masterpiece Collection

Masterpiece Collection

Walt Disney Studio Home Media Entertainment released a line up of VHS and Laserdiks as a follow up to the Walt Disney Classics Collection. There were 32 films released in the series which began in October 1994 and ended in May 1999. With 32 films released in the series, this marks the Masterpiece Collection as the largest collection of films in a series to date.

The Masterpiece Collection started with the release of Snow White and the Seven Dwarves, Mary Poppins, Dumbo, Alice in Wonderland, Robin Hood, The Sword in the Stone, Pete’s Dragon, Bedknobs and Broomsticks, The Three Caballeros and So Dear To My Heart which were released on October 28, 1994. This was the last collection to simultaneous release an edition with two different media forms. The Laserdisc and VHS media forms were both released on the same day.

Each film was only available for a short time before going into moratorium and put back into the Disney Vault, in which they are unavailable for several years until re-released again.

Walt Disney Studio Home Media Entertainment followed this series with the Walt Disney Gold Classic Collection, which started in October 2001.

Walt Disney Masterpiece Collection

[table id=6 /]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>